Frothingham Park is a memorial to Louis Adams Frothingham, who served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1921 to 1928. It was dedicated to the town of Easton on September 27, 1930 by his wife, Mary Ames Frothingham. The park, which has become a landmark in North Easton, includes a baseball field named after the park’s executive director Robert J. “Buddy” Wooster. It also boasts a basketball court, playground and tennis courts. It is free and open to the public. From throwing down a blanket and enjoying a nice picnic to catching a Shoveltown Baseball game, Frothingham Park has a little of everything to offer the
The new tennis court surface is complete except for painting. Due to scheduling and the cooler weather, we may opt to wait until spring to put the finishing touches on the surface. It has been beautifully executed with a new fence and access doors on three sides. We will need to finish the area around the court in the Spring with loam and seed along and repair some ruts created by the heavy trucks accessing the court. It brings a different perspective/vista to the Park. With the old shed removed, you can look across to the tennis courts from Park street.
Frothingham Park is a memorial to Louis Adams Frothingham, who served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1921 to 1928. It was dedicated to the town of Easton on September 27, 1930 by his wife, Mary Ames Frothingham.
Born in 1867, Mary Ames Frothingham, the daughter of Frederick Lothrop Ames Frothingham grew up on Langwater estate with her brothers. She devoted much of her life to charity work. At age 49, she married Louis A. Frothingham. Read more